Residence Family

A view from Wood Residence in the fall.

I am not going home for Thanksgiving for a number of reasons, there are no train tickets left, I am sick and don’t want to travel and I have a lot of catching up to do and feel I will be more productive if I stay in residence.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my family and would love to see them, but I just feel like that is not what I need to be doing at this point in time.

When I tell people I’m not going home they immediately feel sorry for me, but I am quick to tell them not to. I made my choice to stay in residence and I’m happy with it, although I don’t get to spend Thanksgiving with my family at home, I do have my residence family here to celebrate with.

Living in residence is a great experience, you are located on campus and can easily get involved in campus life, be it through joining clubs, participating in ResLife events or getting an on-campus job. But the best part about residence is the friends you make, the people on your floor, in your house, the ones who are always hanging out in your common room, the people you have class with who happen to live in your building…
What better way to develop friendship than by living together!

Throughout last year and this year I have made some amazing friends in residence, some went home to be with their families and some stayed here. Those of us who stayed are sticking together and making the most of this holiday that we are lucky enough to spend together.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone – spend it with people who mean something to you!

“Call it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family. Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one” Jane Howard

One response

  1. ajuanderfullife | Reply

    I hope you had a great weekend mon amie! Je t’aime et tu seras toujours une membre de ma “famille de residence!”

Leave a comment

everyfondambition

Two lives. Two stories. One blog.

Baby, Put On Heart-Shaped Sunglasses

It's all About the Exposure

And the answer is 42

Krista McNamara is a Glendon alumna. Here's a little time capsule of her final years at York University. She can now be reached at @MxMacTeaches on twitter.

The Best Years

an eAmbassador blog

greengrassrootsandshoots.wordpress.com/

Looking at the world through GREEN lenses with Glendon Roots and Shoots' Serial (GRASS)~

Voyager pour gagner son pain

GL eAmbassador. Double-major Int'l Studies & Phil. Doodling the day. Daydreamer by night.

Juan and Only

A Glendon eAmbassador Blog - New Post Every Tuesday(ish)

Le lieu où my worlds collide

Watching les mondes de ma vie mesh, by a Glendon English student

moral of the story

salut! my name is esther p // major: communications // what's your story?