This time last year…

September 27th, 2011 was a Thursday and my last day of class for the week. I had two classes to go to, Philosophie – Les grands penseurs from 10:30-12pm and my Spanish grammar class from 3-6pm. 
In between classes I would have gone to the caf to grab lunch and probably run into some friends, returned to my room to look over my homework and browse facebook for a bit before returning to York Hall for Spanish.

Spanish class was fun; my professor was very kind and fun, she always made sure to have a multi-media aspect to the class, a song or a movie clip, something to keep us engaged. 
After class I went to the cafeteria to get supper, usually either the stir-fry or, if there were any left the tacos from Taco Thursday, while chatting with some friends from Spanish class.


Then it was back to residence to hangout with my B-House buddies. In the short 3 weeks since school had started, we had quickly found each other and established an amazing feeling of comfort and fun amongst each other – that was something I really appreciated, those people are a large part of what made Glendon feel like a home away from home.


The fact that I can remember all this now, a whole year later suggests it was a good enough time to have endured in my memory, and I wish the same memorable experience for you and my best suggestion to get it is to simply enjoy every moment and be fully present in whatever you’re doing – if you’re in class, pay attention; hanging with your friends, really listen to what they’re saying; going to the gym, don’t get distracted; going out downtown, have a good time – whatever you do, do it with all your heart.

One response

  1. ‘be fully present’ – I love and need this reminder every day. Thank you Sarah!

Leave a comment

everyfondambition

Two lives. Two stories. One blog.

Baby, Put On Heart-Shaped Sunglasses

It's all About the Exposure

And the answer is 42

Krista McNamara is a Glendon alumna. Here's a little time capsule of her final years at York University. She can now be reached at @MxMacTeaches on twitter.

The Best Years

an eAmbassador blog

greengrassrootsandshoots.wordpress.com/

Looking at the world through GREEN lenses with Glendon Roots and Shoots' Serial (GRASS)~

Voyager pour gagner son pain

GL eAmbassador. Double-major Int'l Studies & Phil. Doodling the day. Daydreamer by night.

Juan and Only

A Glendon eAmbassador Blog - New Post Every Tuesday(ish)

Le lieu où my worlds collide

Watching les mondes de ma vie mesh, by a Glendon English student

moral of the story

salut! my name is esther p // major: communications // what's your story?